DAY ONE

Day one is in the books, and it wasn’t horrible! I want to share some of my meal prep from last night. Keep in mind, that I don’t buy all of my veggies organic. On the Whole 30, you are supposed to, but I only buy all of my meat organic (I did that before anyway). Organic veggies and fruits are just TOO expensive. That may be the only Whole 30 rule I break!

Tip: Anytime I can buy something already sliced/diced/cut, I do. This is a HUGE time saver! Same with rotisserie chickens. They are already cooked and all you have to do is pull the meat! <– Huge time saver for making chicken salad and so on.

What’s in my Fridge?

IMG_1096
Just ignore that Straight to Ale Brother Joseph on the top right. Preston is saving that for when the W30 is over!

It looks empty, but it’s not! I always keep the following items in my fridge:

  • Eggs (cage free, range free)
  • Grapes
  • Fruit from Publix (already cut)
  • Lettuce
  • Ground beef (Greenwise brand)
  • Chicken breasts (Greenwise brand)
  • Peppers (already cut)
  • Rotisserie chicken
  • La Croix waters
  • Aidell’s chicken apple sausage
  • Turkey bacon
  • Carrots
  • Bottled water

 

 

Pantry Staple Items

  • Unsalted cashews
  • Bananas
  • Sweet potatoes
  • EVOO
  • Chili powder, minced garlic, other spices for seasoning (read your labels)
  • Apples
  • Almond butter

Late Night Meal Prep

Last night (AFTER I watched that crazy episode of The Bachelor) I prepped a couple of things for lunch and dinner for today, and hopefully leftovers tomorrow! See below!

IMG_1098
This chicken & apple sausage is so good! I just cut up the sausage, threw it in a pan with peppers (already sliced) added and little EVOO and sautéed for about 10 minutes. EASY! This was lunch today!
IMG_1101
This is a new recipe (thanks Katie Guinn)! Sweet Potato Chili! I actually threw this in the crock pot and let it cook overnight (weird, I know) but with Preston and I having totally different schedules, I wanted to make sure he had dinner ready! I portioned it out this morning, and now he can grab his lunch and dinner when he heads out around 2:00! 🙂 You can find this recipe, here.

Breakfast

I keep it simple- two scrambled eggs and some fruit. I somehow NEVER get tired of eggs. I love eggs. Sometimes I mix it up and do an omelette or add some peppers in for flavor, but I am totally fine just eating scrambled eggs. They are quick and easy. I did miss having cheese in my eggs this morning, but I know that will change after a week or so.

Snacks

Today, I brought an apple and some unsalted cashews to work with me. I also brought a La Croix water to eat with my lunch. BTW- La Croix was NOT allowed the first time I did a Whole 30 so this was a real treat.

When I got home from work, I was hungry! I grabbed some raw carrots from the refrigerator and munched on those, and then had my sweet potato chili for dinner (which was amazing).

So…

Tomorrow for lunch, we will have leftover sweet potato chili. Before I leave for work in the morning, I am going to throw some chicken and salsa in the crockpot to cook on low all day tomorrow. This is called “shredded chicken salsa.” I plan to throw this on some lettuce with some guac, salsa, tomato’s, etc. for dinner tomorrow night and then leftovers for Thursday! As you can see, I use my crock pot as MUCH as possible. It is a huge time saver and I always have enough leftover. 🙂

Confession: I woke up this morning, threw on my dress pants, and sighed. They were snug, and I felt miserable, BUT, I know that feeling is only temporary. Thirty days from now, those same pants will be too big! I will feel better, sleep better, and will gain back the confidence I’ve been lacking over the last few months! Today was day 1, and it only goes up from here!

I hope this gives you some insight into how I plan my meals. Throughout the process, you will learn the things you like, what makes you full, and how to work this program around your life/schedule. It’s challenging, but it’s worth it!

-Whitney

 

Leave a Reply

