Days 3 – 6

What a BEAUTIFUL weekend! I am just now winding down to catch you all up on the last few days! Our dryer went out, so went spent most of our Sunday picking out a new one and bringing that baby home! I never knew I could be so excited about washing and DRYING laundry! Anyway, onto the food…

Day 3 – 5

I was a little worried about my chicken salsa but it turned out SO good. I really didn’t care to eat it with anything else either…just a little avocado and I was set. Of course, you could throw this over a bed of lettuce and add your favorite W30 approved toppings, too. 🙂

IMG_1131
I put 2lbs of chicken in the crockpot and a jar of salsa and cooked it on low for 6-8 hours.

On Friday night, I kept it easy and threw together some almond crusted chicken tenders. This is hands down one of the easiest meals to make.

I dipped my chicken tenders in one egg (whipped) and then dipped the chicken tenders in some crushed almonds. I crushed these with my Cuisine Art hand mixer. I baked them on 425 for about 20 minutes and they were done!

Saturday night, Preston was able to take off a half shift so I put him to work on the grill, while I sautéed some asparagus! Simple and easy.

IMG_1166Day 6

On to the fun! Below you will find my grocery haul for the week! I was in a little bit of a hurry today while shopping, so I will most likely be making another trip back to the store. The first time I did this program, I was concerned about how much it would cost…healthy food IS expensive. I will share with you about what we spend a week on groceries. Keep in mind, I am feeding (2) of us and in the long run, we are really saving money because we have eliminated eating out. Preston and I do NOT eat out on the Whole 30 except for Chipotle… and even then, it’s maybe once or twice throughout the 30 days.

IMG_1176
Above you’ll find… chicken breasts, ground beef, turkey bacon, rotisserie chicken, Larabars, bananas, apples, avocado, lemons, mixed fruit, grapes, lettuce, tomato, eggs, pistachios, minced garlic, shrimp, zucchini, and sweet potato!

Tonight, we are having lettuce wrapped burgers with sweet potato fries. I also whipped up some chicken salad today that I will share in my next post. On the menu for tomorrow night, Shrimp with Zoodles! (Zucchini noodles)

Things I am LOVING on this W30

So when we first did this thing 3 years ago, there were a lot of things you couldn’t have then, that you can have now, and it’s life changing.

I am loving La Croix sparkling waters. I limit myself to one a day and drink water the rest of the day but man are they refreshing!

Did you know you can have white potatoes?? Since we are old school and white potatoes weren’t allowed the first time we did it, we decided to leave them out and stick to sweet potatoes only! But, more power to everyone else!!!

Mayo that you can buy in the store…WHOA! SO this was also not allowed. For 2 years, I whipped up my own batches of mayo, but now there are options like this one from Primal Kitchen. Total time saver when making chicken salad or for your burgers!

Until next time…

-Whitney

Leave a Reply

