Day 22-Let’s Finish This

Good Morning!

I am back with a better attitude and lots to share! Preston and I are on DAY 22 of our Whole 30. It’s crazy to think that next week this thing will be D O N E. I can tell you that my pants fit like a dream, and most of them are actually too big now. I’m feeling lighter, happier, and more comfortable and confident in myself. At this point, I am thinking forward to next week, and what and how I am going to balance my eating and social life after Whole 30. I will touch on more of that later.

Day 16-21

Once I changed my attitude after Day 15, things immediately got better. I ran to Costco after work and stocked up on some of my staple items such as eggs, La Croix, Almond Butter, Chicken Breasts and Cashews. Costco is seriously so great when it comes to this diet. Be prepared to drop some $$$, but know it is totally worth it.

IMG_1318

That night, I kept it simple and had chicken with some sauteed mushrooms. I LOVE mushrooms. I used a little bit of olive oil, salt & pepper, and some red wine vinegar to give them some flavor.

Saturday morning we had some sweet friends give us some fresh eggs from their chickens. They were SO GOOD. Totally different than your store bought eggs! 🙂

IMG_1344

Saturday night, I got a mean craving for some Mexican. I browned some ground turkey and seasoned it with chili powder, onion powder, paprika, salt and pepper to give it that taco-y taste. I put the ground beef over a bed of lettuce, and topped it with some salsa, guac, and jalapenos. It hit the spot for sure.

IMG_1355
Remember- I am ALL about convenience. The guacamole is an individual serving of Wholly Guacamole. Yes, it is Whole 30 approved. You can find it in most grocery stores! 

As usual, my breakfast still consists of 2 eggs and some fruit and turkey bacon.

Last night, we celebrated a birthday over at Preston’s parents house. Half of the guests had Tellini’s Italian, while Preston, Dave (his dad) and myself enjoyed a nice big steak with a side of green beans and squash and zucchini. No birthday cake here! Trust me, it smelled amazing. I could have buried my face in that cake and probably eaten it until it made me sick. Sweets are my downfall. I LOVE everything about them. But, we resisted the urge because we know how good we feel. BUT, doesn’t this look delish?

IMG_1413
Torture

Tonight we are trying out some Whole 30 approved meatballs with marinara over a bed of spaghetti squash. I’ll be sure to share that recipe on the next blog!

What’s Next? 

I keep thinking about when this thing is over, what am I going to do? In the past, I have unfortunately fallen back into old habits. I am really, really going to try and not let that happen this go round. I have made SO much progress, why would I want to throw that all away? Because, pizza Whitney! Freaking, delicious, pizza, that’s why!

But in all seriousness, right now my game plan is to eat clean 6 days, and have 1 day where I eat absolutely whatever I want. I also don’t want to exclude going out to eat on those 6 days. My hope is to just make a better decision when I do go out. I hate to miss out on things, especially when Preston and I have a chance to go out and do something fun, or try a new restaurant.

I have never been great at working out, so my other goal is to get in 30 minutes of cardio 3-5 days a week, and start lifting some free weights to tone up!

BIG goals? Probably. I know I’m not going to be perfect, but for me it’s about finding that healthy balance. If I am going to make this a lifestyle change, I have to figure out what works best for me in my day to day. I have some crazy days at work, and sometimes I just want to come home and have a glass of wine, and so that’s what I’m going to do.

I would love your suggestions or recommendations on how you balance your social life/ healthy eating. It’s always been a struggle for me. It’s crazy that I can discipline myself enough for 30 days to eat like this, but can’t seem to keep it up once it’s over. But this time, I am really, really going to try!

Thanks for reading! Next time, we will be close to finishing and then after that, I will share my results! 🙂

-Whitney

Leave a Reply

