So Many Feels.

We are nearly done with our 3rd Whole 30 journey. It’s crazy! Today is DAY 29 which means tomorrow is the last day. I’ve had been reflecting a lot on the last few weeks so I wanted to share my thoughts…

Whole 30 is Crazy

Yes, I know it is. I know that everybody thinks that we are bananas for giving up delicious food and alcohol for 30 whole days. It’s crazy that we are turning down friends and family to do certain things because we can’t eat out at certain restaurants and can’t attend happy hour. We are crazy because, who would pass up macaroni and cheese casserole and red velvet cake on Easter to eat ham and steamed broccoli? Yes, that’s us, but guess what? It’s only 30 days. This thing isn’t forever, ya’ll. You can do ANYTHING for 30 days. Drinking your coffee black for 30 days, is not hard and it’s a choice we have made. I’m not saying this is something I have heard a lot… in fact, I really have had a lot of GREAT support from close family and friends, but I want everyone to know that we are big girls and boys and it’s totally okay for us to say “No” every once in a while.

In the last 28 days…

  • I have lost somewhere between 10-12 lbs
  • My energy level is through the roof
  • I am sleeping better
  • My pants are entirely too big (Guess I’ll have to go shopping 🙂 )
  • And I am looking forward to making better decisions going forward

What’s Next?

I pretty much have decided to stick to a Paleo diet 5-6 days a week, and have 1 cheat day where I eat absolutely whatever I want. Hey, if I can have paleo pancakes and muffins on Paleo, sign me up! With that being said, my plan is to try and keep dairy, grains, sugar, and beans out of my diet (keeping the alcohol in- where my wine-o’s at?) I realize I may not be entirely perfect but it’s about making better choices all around. It’s about going out to dinner with friends and making a better decision but still be able to enjoy myself. I really do not want to mess up everything I have worked so hard for the last 29 days.

I also plan to incorporate exercise into my diet. Over the last week or so, Preston and I have kind of felt somewhat of a plateau. If I want to lose any more, I’m going to have to hit the gym. My goal is to do 30 minutes of cardio 3-5 days a week, and to start lifting some free weights! We’ll see how that goes!

Food…

I wish I had more food to post, but I don’t. I was really terrible and snapping pics of my food this go round.

Meatballs with Zoodles

I actually found the marinara sauce at Publix and it was Whole 30 approved. The marinara was GreenWise brand. I added a little basil just to give it some flavor. And yes, you can have coconut flour and almond flour on Whole 30 but only to help keep things together, NOT for making pancakes or muffins.

IMG_1419IMG_1420IMG_1422

Steak!

IMG_1487IMG_1494

Not too much to this meal. Steak, asparagus and mushrooms. See, eating on Whole 30 can be oh so good.

Tomorrow. It. Is. Done.

You know, this round of Whole 30 was not terrible. I’m really looking forward to finishing this thing, but I am really proud of the progress Preston, myself, and my father in law have made. This isn’t an easy program, but it is seriously rewarding. I’m ready to find that balance, and I am ready to make my new formed habits stick. I very well may enjoy a donut on Thursday (because I have been CRAVING one for weeks) and that is ok. But then it’s back to the grind. I may even pick back up on my 21 Day Fix workouts! Who knows!

Stay tuned for the results on Thursday!

-Whitney

Leave a Reply

